Should I hand wind my 2824-2 Automatic?
Like Tree2Likes

Thread: Should I hand wind my 2824-2 Automatic?

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Should I hand wind my 2824-2 Automatic?

I just happened to be cruising the net, reading about the 2824-2 automatic movement in my new Stowa Flieger..I came upon some information that said that handwinding this movement on a regular basis can damage it? I had been winding it every morning, about 10 revolutions of the crown, not really thinking twice about it...Is this a bad thing? Does it ever need to be wound if I wear it every day? How often/much should I wind it?

As you can tell, I'm new to automatic/mechanical watches, LOL...Thanks for any advice.

Steve
    DutchMongolian likes this.

Re: Should I hand wind my 2824-2 Automatic?

No, it doesn't ever need to be wound through the crown if you wear it every day.

Honestly, I've heard some bad things about ETA 2824 but I wouldn't worry about it unless you do it every day. If you do, the gears might be worn out after a year or two and need to be replaced.

I don't really feel the need to handwind, couple of reasons. Why would you want the watch to run and to accumulate wear when you are not wearing it? And when you put on the watch, shaking the watch 4-5 times and that is actually enough charge for the watch to run for 6 hours or so. Plus, if you screw and unscrew the watch to wind it, you are wearing the threads on the crown tube out more than anything.
    Omega Speedmaster Professional (ST 145.022)
    Omega Speedmaster Automatic (ST 176.0016) Cal. 1045 (Lemania 5100)
    Hamilton Field Mechanical
    Marathon SAR (2006)

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

@ bin31z:

Honestly, I've heard some bad things about ETA 2824 but I wouldn't worry about it unless you do it every day. If you do, the gears might be worn out after a year or two and need to be replaced.

Hi,

you really don't know anything about watches, do you?!

Volker

Hi everyone,