Stowa Flieger Second Hand
Like Tree17Likes

Thread: Stowa Flieger Second Hand

Page 1 of 4 1 2 3 4 LastLast

Stowa Flieger Second Hand

Hi, I'm new to this, so please be gentle!

I got a couple of months ago a Stowa Flieger, no logo 40mm. I love it in every way except for one thing - the second hand!

When I glance at the watch to check the time, my eye is often drawn to the second hand not the minute hand, and so I misread the time! This might be me being dumb, but it seems to me the second hand is very pronounced, both because it is very long, and also because it is the same very bright Luminox colour as the minute hand.

Obviously I could just get used to this, and move on with my life. That's probably the most sensible plan. But, I wondered about modifying the second hand to make it less similar to the minute hand. Either by trimming back the existing one by 5mm or so, or (more controversially) I thought replacing it with a shorter red or orange one might look really cool.

I would be interested in your views. Is this second hand issue something anyone has come across? Is modding the hand a terrible thing to do to a new watch?

Thanks!

Moderator at Large stuffler,mike's Avatar

Re: Stowa Flieger Second Hand

I wonder how it is possible to misread the time. The seconds hand is way smaller to the minute hand and way longer than the hour hand.

Trimming back ? Well, imho it will not help. A red laquered tip might help. But whatever you will decide, don‘t go for a shorter seconds hand. You will change the flieger DNA.
    Kind regards
    Mike

Instagram @mikestuffler

LOVE the watch, HATE the seconds hand.

It is extremely easy to misread the time, btw. At a glance the longer seconds hand appears as it is the minutes hand. Of course staring at it solves the problem, but who wants to stare?

I’m not sure of the solution. A colored tip? A different color altogether?