Calling all watchmakers: How do YOU measure movement performance?

Thread: Calling all watchmakers: How do YOU measure movement performance?

Calling all watchmakers: How do YOU measure movement performance?

F365 friends,

I'm trying to identify useful performance metrics for my timing evals (which other WUS members are now contributing to), but I'm finding that benchmarks of movement performance tend to vary quite a bit (COSC, METAS, GS, etc.). My background is in Statistics (quant. methods professor), so formulas for accuracy (what we call validity or bias) and precision (lack of variance or dispersion) are a dime a dozen. But I want to make sure that the ratings/scores I create are actually useful to our fellow WIS when comparing various calibers, and I can't think of anyone who might know this material better than you folks. So I need your help. My goal is to create a scoring/rating system for the WUS community that is:

1) Relevant to the watch/movement's timekeeping ability
    2) Reasonably thorough (given my equipment/facilities limitations)
    3) Non-redundant
    4) Reasonably weighted (good balance of positional precision, isochronism, etc.)

In my timing study, I take i=5 measurements (one every 12 seconds, to cover the entire sweep of the seconds hand), in each of j=6 positions, at t=2 time periods (fully wound and after 24 hours rest), for a total of N = i*j*t = 60 measurements of each watch, 30 when fully wound and 30 after 24 hours discharge.

Here are some of the summary measures I've used or considered using to assess each movement's performance. For now let's just focus on Day1 (fully wound):

ACCURACY at t=1
    1) Average daily rate (hereafter ADR) across all 30 measurements
    2) Weighted ADRs (that assign higher weight to common positions like DD and 9-up)

PRECISION (between positions, within-position, and overall) at t=1