Help removing back and crystal from Seiko 5 6619-8060

Thread: Help removing back and crystal from Seiko 5 6619-8060

Question Help removing back and crystal from Seiko 5 6619-8060

Hi, I bought an inexpensive 1967 Seiko 5 Sportsmatic 6619-8060 with the hopes to replace the crystal and try to clean the dial to bring it back to life. It appears to keep time properly. I'm new to watch repair, so I was a bit stumped to see the case back not have any screw notches to remove the back and the movement. And no visible notch to pry it up. And the crystal also seems to be held down by a bezel, with no obvious notch to clearly lift it up from the top.

If any knows, could someone kindly help me understand the high level approach to getting both the case back and the crystal off? Do I pry them off? Do I press the crystal off with a crystal press?

Thanks much for your help!
    Name:  seiko-6619-crystal.jpg
Views: 278
Size:  769.5 KBName:  seiko-6619-back.jpg
Views: 281
Size:  879.3 KB

Seth

Re: Help removing back and crystal from Seiko 5 6619-8060 F

Quote Originally Posted by sethpnc View Post
    Hi, I bought an inexpensive 1967 Seiko 5 Sportsmatic 6619-8060 with the hopes to replace the crystal and try to clean the dial to bring it back to life. It appears to keep time properly. I'm new to watch repair, so I was a bit stumped to see the case back not have any screw notches to remove the back and the movement. And no visible notch to pry it up. And the crystal also seems to be held down by a bezel, with no obvious notch to clearly lift it up from the top.

If any knows, could someone kindly help me understand the high level approach to getting both the case back and the crystal off? Do I pry them off? Do I press the crystal off with a crystal press?

Thanks much for your help!
    Name:  seiko-6619-crystal.jpg
Views: 278
Size:  769.5 KBName:  seiko-6619-back.jpg
Views: 281
Size:  879.3 KB

Seth