Advice needed with first watch - Cartier Ballon Bleu or similar?

Thread: Advice needed with first watch - Cartier Ballon Bleu or similar?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Advice needed with first watch - Cartier Ballon Bleu or similar?

Hi everyone! I stumbled upon these forums while researching my first watch & hope you guys could give me some advice.

A little background information - I'm 25 and this is my first time buying a watch, I'm a complete newbie so have been choosing them more or less based on design. Looking for something around £5k, must have automatic movement, round face, noon-leather bracelet and I guess around 35mm size (my wrist measures 14.5cm and I like larger watches).

So far Cartier's medium 2 tone Ballon Bleu fits the description because I like its big face & clean design. Not as keen on the stainless steel version however, it's not as colourful as 2 tone.

How well do Cartier timepieces generally hold up? Will the Ballon Bleu look dated in a few years?

I read that apparently Cartier's watch movement isn't as good as that in brands such as Rolex; does this mean Cartier is generally inferior to Rolex?

I've also had a look at a few similarly priced Rolex, but imo they tend to look very masculine and have far too many dials. I'm after a good looking (though not too blingy), durable, everyday watch that I will love to wear for years to come.

Any other recommendations welcome! Thank you
    Last edited by chocfish; December 7th, 2011 at 16:26.

Re: Advice needed with first watch - Cartier Ballon Bleu or similar?

Hi,

A 14.5 cm wrist size is quite modest, so I would suggest some modest sized watches by today's standards. It would be helpful to know which size BB you were interested in ( there are 3 sizes). Also, what features are you interested in (automatic, manual, date, dial color, roman, Arabic or markers, display back etc.). Once you provide this there are a number of 36-39 mm watches that I might suggest.

Bob