Gustav Beker clock or not

Thread: Gustav Beker clock or not

Gustav Beker clock or not

I have an old clock works with the idea to make an ornate wall mount case for it if I can get it to run reliably. It does not have original weights and pendulum which I will make. I have made a rough stand, a 7.7 kg (guessed) test weight and temporary pendulum for testing purposes. I am a complete novice so I may have missed something obvious here. I am grateful for any support having consumed quite a bit of Covid 19 “Cockdown” time going up the learning curve and getting it to run.
    My questions are:

1. Can anyone please help identify if it is a real Gustav Beker or something else.
    2. Is it a wall mount or long case works?

Background Information

1. The face has the appearance of a Gustav Beker, as does the works, but I note other Gustav Beker’s have a mark to that effect on the face and stamps on the brass. As seen in the attached photos there are no such markings, only a serial number 98796 on the brass back and last two digits 96 repeated on the brass front. Perhaps it could be a GB copy?
    2. The pendulum does one complete swing every two seconds and the second hand moves accordingly. 30 swings in one minute. That by calculation means a pendulum length of close to 1 meter as confirmed by testing. That seems long for a wall mount regulator clock if that is indeed what it is. Perhaps it from a long case clock and is not a regulator clock?

Thanks
    Attached Images Attached Images

Moderator German Watches Forum

Re: Gustav Beker clock or not

Welcome, and thank you for the photos.

I do not know the maker.

Is there a reason for choosing such a large weight?
    It seems excessive.

Thanks,
    rationaltime

Thanks rationaltime,