Just Joined the Bremont Club
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: Just Joined the Bremont Club

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast
    It's funny because I was a Bremont "skeptic" at first. Because I was skeptical of the Bremont "backstory". I understand that if you want to be established in the luxury watch market, you need a backstory, and I thought the story told by the Brothers English was a little too good to be true, so whenever I would read about Bremont, I rolled my eyes.

And the pricing. I was one of those who was somewhat "offended" by their pricing. "They are charging how much? IWC charges more for comparable watches, but they have been around for 150 years. And Bremont has been around for only 10. The nerve!"

Yeah, like many people, I can be sheep-like when it comes to branding and marketing, too positive when I am predisposed to like a brand, too negative when I am not, and I'll make rationalizations to confirm my bias. And I am an attorney, so I am very good at rationalizations.

Then I actually tried on a Bremont watch.

My favorite watches are simple, three-handers with a date. I compared a Bremont Solo to an IWC Mark XVII, wrist to wrist, and I liked the Solo much much much more than the IWC. Same MSRP, but I felt the Bremont was more substantial, with a better WR, equal legibility, chronometer grade movement and COSC certification, applied indices, a display case back, and, most importantly, it looked and felt better on my wrist. So I pulled the trigger and FedEx just delivered it to my office a few minutes ago.

I dig the leather travel case. Watch boxes take up storage space, and they are kind of pointless unless you want to sell the watch, and the case Bremont provides is excellent.

Very, very happy with this watch. So happy I think I'll invest in a Bremont Chrono.

Anyway, here are some pictures, which aren't the best, but they will have to do:

Name:  Bremont Solo.jpg
Views: 190
Size:  2.49 MB

Name:  Bremont Case.jpg
Views: 193
Size:  1.53 MB