WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

Montblanc Calendar Vasco Da Gamma edition or JLC Master Calendar

3K views 12 replies 9 participants last post by  SEARZ 
#1 ·
This has been posted in both the JLC forum and the Montblanc forum.

Hi everyone. I would really appreciate your opinion about a couple of watches.

I have been considering the JLC Master Calendar for a few months now. I know the market is soft at the moment so it might be a good opportunity to purchase one now because I may be able to negotiate a good discount, and be able to buy a watch that would otherwise be prohibitively expensive for me. My job takes me overseas quite a bit, so I would also get the VAT refunded. But I recently became aware of the Montblanc Full Calendar, Vasco Da Gama Edition. It is also gorgeous, and a lot cheaper. Now, I know that many people feel there is no comparison between the brands. But I own watches representing different price points, so I don't really care about this, or at least I try not to fall victim to the psychological effect the more expensive watch has over the cheaper watch.

I've seen both in the flesh, but not side by side. I prefer JLC's 39mm size vs. Montblanc's 40mm, because I think it better suits a classical style watch. But I think I like the Montblanc's hands (slightly) over the JLC's. And the blue circle at the bottom representing the southern hemisphere, and also where the moon phase is located is beautiful. It really pops out. But it lacks a small second hand, which the JLC has.

After seeing both, within half an hour of each other, I think I prefer the JLC. But that also could be because I saw the Montblanc first, the JLC last. So seeing it last perhaps left a more lasting impression.