New member with a quick question or two.
Like Tree13Likes

Thread: New member with a quick question or two.

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Hello everyone! My name is Dylan Tilley. I'm a lifetime jeweler, gemologist, and watchmaker.

I've recently been taking my horological education and qualifications to the next level after years of apprenticeship, routine service and repair experience, and I'm ready to start seeking out the most efficient route towards getting parts accounts.

Namely, Rolex and Swatch. I hear they've been cracking down on independent accounts lately, especially Rolex. I've serviced their movements several times with good results by sourcing parts from the grey market or with aftermarket components at my clients' approval, but I don't like doing that and it's getting hard.

I'm waiting for a date to take my CW21 exam this year, and I'm familiar with the Lititz Watch Technicum; It seems to be an amazing school and program in my reach (I live in MD), but is there a more expedient manner of acquiring these accounts and/or the necessary certifications without going to school for two or three years? I'm very comfortable with both horological theory and practical application from self study and some classes. I just need some fine tuning and credentials.

For context, there are some competitors in my area claiming to have parts accounts that seem to have lower standards of work than my own, and I'm not sure how to tell if they are honest or not if they evade the questions (which they do).

In any case, it is moving higher on my priority list to compete by having these accounts myself. Any help is greatly appreciated, and thanks for reading my long and vigorous post.

Re: New member with a quick question or two.

Moved to the appropriate sub-forum.

Welcome to WatchUSeek Dylan.