Prevalence of repetitive stress injuries in Watchmaking
Like Tree22Likes

Thread: Prevalence of repetitive stress injuries in Watchmaking

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Prevalence of repetitive stress injuries in Watchmaking

I know there's probably no actual numbers tracked specifically for watchmaking, but how many people here on the forum have suffered or suffer from some type of watchmaking related injury or pain? Are there a significant number of people exiting the profession due to neck, shoulder, back and eye issues?

I know as a hobbyist I haven't spent the time I should setting up a proper work space, so I can end up in some pain after a Saturday afternoon of puttering at the bench. But, even with a proper ergonomic bench I still can see it being very difficult and physically demanding doing a 40 hour week bent over working on watches
    Last edited by OnlyOneMore; May 30th, 2019 at 20:17.
    Benjamin Barrera likes this.

Re: Prevalence of repetitive stress injuries in Watchmaking

Not a pro, but I found that most of my 'stiff and sore' issues after a few hours of watch work went away when I got a watchmakers bench that placed the work in front of my face rather than under it.
    Don't take life so serious, son. It ain't nohow permanent - Pogo

My Elgin Blog...

All my watchmaking-related pain is emotional.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements

Quote Originally Posted by phydaux View Post
    So Far...
    If it's a good meter, it's a Fluke.
    Hang my self when I get enough rope. (It's a Tubes lyric, from the mid 70's; song's called "White Punks on Dope". Enough said?)
    The difference between 12 and 21 is dyslexia.

Name:  dCqWAAB.jpg
Views: 62
Size:  49.7 KB

My coworker fell asleep at his bench while holding a tweezer and it went through his nose.
    maillchort, Deli, BenchGuy and 2 others like this.

Quote Originally Posted by OnlyOneMore View Post