waltham 7 jewel 6/0

Thread: waltham 7 jewel 6/0

waltham 7 jewel 6/0

Firstly I would like to say HI to everyone on the boards.I am fairly new to watch collecting, I have always loved watches and always try and buy a new one when ever I am able to.I have just started collecting vintage and military watches.I recently bought a Waltham 1939 9ct gold wristwatch, 7 jewel movement size 6/0 serial no'26191529The movement is not running and I thought it would be easy enough to buy a new/working movement but am struggling to find one, can anyone give me any ideas of where I could get a working movement for this watch or maybe recommed a good repairer, I would like to get this watch up and running so as I am able to use it.

Re: waltham 7 jewel 6/0

It would be just shy of a miracle to find a new replacement movement for this watch. You will need to have this watch serviced or restored. 7 jewel movements usually incur a large amount of wear and require attention to detail in servicing. These movements are / were not very accurate due to the low jewel count, replacing worn bushings with jewels is a possibility which is an upgrade and acceptable. But you must consider what you want from the watch IE is the watch a worthy of Restoration for historical purposes or just a repair for personal enjoyment.

I would look in th UK to the BHI or in the USA the AWCI for reputable watchmakers.

Let us know how you make out

Thank you very much for the information. I really just want the watch for personal enjoyment.
    Sorry if I sound very nieve, but I am quite new to watches as I have said. Would it be possible to put a 17 jewel movement in this watch, I take it that if the movement is the same size and fits in the watch case then this is fine?? is this correct?? I know there are some sellers on ebay who sell waltham movements, could I easily buy one and put it in the watch (if it fits)??
    I'm going to try and attatch some pictures of the watch if I can....Many thanks again...