My (most likely fake) PRC 200

Thread: My (most likely fake) PRC 200

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

My (most likely fake) PRC 200

I see there are a lot of threads on here pertaining to fake Tissots, and I am loathe to add to this, but those who are sorrowful must seek solace by recounting their tales of woe to sympathetic ears.

I bought what was billed as a new Tissot PRC 200 through one of the sellers on Amazon.com (WatchZone). It was about 40% off retail price. I am new to watch collecting and figured dealers on Amazon were safer.

When I got the watch, I noticed two things: 1) it would not keep a charge overnight as my other automatics do; and 2) it would sometimes stop while it was on my wrist. So I was suspicious. I took it to a watch-maker (who I have used to clean and repair some vintage Omegas) and he said it was a "copy." There's no reason for me not to believe or trust this man with 40 years experience.

I contacted the seller to request a refund. They said it was past the 30 day return period and offered to ship the watch to Tissot to be repaired. I explained that a fake watch that ran perfectly was still a fake. They assured me unceremoniously that they did not sell fake watches. I obviously don't trust them at this point, and there is no way I am just sending the watch back for "repair." Who knows what they would send me back.

So now I have filed a claim with Amazon and we'll see what happens. This weekend I am taking the watch to another local watch-maker for a second opinion.

I've been through the threads on here detailing how to spot a fake, and as far as I can tell the box it came in is up to the standard. I don't have a great camera, but some pics of the face are below.

Any words anyone has to offer are appreciated.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Last edited by BrooklineWatch; October 29th, 2010 at 04:12.

sci

Re: My (most likely fake) PRC 200