Need help selecting a watch

Thread: Need help selecting a watch

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Need help selecting a watch

Hi,

I have been reading the forums for a few days. I'm very new to watches and this site so excuse me if this is not in the correct section.

I am looking for a pilot style watch which is thick (depth 13-16mm) and about 40mm diameter with a leather strap. It should be automatic at below $400 USD. I'm tired of batteries.

Also, is quartz battery operated? And what does Swiss quartz mean? What does
    Swiss Mechanical mean? What is a chronograph watch? What is a quartz chronograph watch?

Something that looks similar to this picture but also one that is not fake like this one is (scroll down):

I also like the look of this watch (again fake) from the same site (https://www.wernersflyingwatches.com....asp?ProID=325).

Then I was looking at a couple of Tissots which look affordable but are not thick. This is a nice Tissot but I think the depth is not thick and it also runs on batteries? It says ETA Swiss Quartz movement. No idea what that means.

I am also looking at this site: http://www.longislandwatch.com/ I see a nice Riedenschild Advance Pro Hand Wind Mechanical Chronograph Black Watch #1117-02-K04
    but it says hand wound? Hand wound??

Any watches on longislandwatch you can recommend to me? I see a TRIAS but don't know the quality of it. It says it has
    self-winding movements. What is that? Automatic?

I am really confused and not knowledgeable but getting thirsty to get a watch quickly. The more I look and read, the more difficult it gets. Any help appreciated.

Thank you very much!
    Last edited by whachudoin; June 21st, 2007 at 01:41.

Re: Need help selecting a watch

Can anybody help me?

Quartz means batteries...

Try looking at Valjoux/ETA chronos in that price range.

Like this:

http://www.bernardwatch.com/item/DJR75BR the same movement as the Omega Speedmater Reduced.

or this:

http://www.bernardwatch.com/item/ZOD2003A