How do YOU clean your watch ???

Thread: How do YOU clean your watch ???

How do YOU clean your watch ???

I went to take some shots of my Tissot the other night and when I got them on the computer I noticed just how grotty the watch was! It has been my daily wearer for years, I worked in retail for a while and wore it while moving great loads of stock and cleaning and so on, sweaty work mostly....wore it mowing the grass, working on cars and so on so I should have realised that a quick wipe over with a damp cloth just wasn't going to cut it. So I broke out the wifes jewellery cleaner and soaked it for 5 minutes then with the small "bonus" cleaning brush I got into all the tuff spots...in the end I think it came up well, could do with a polish to remove the swirls in the bezel I guess but for it's age and use I am pretty happy.

My question is..... HOW DO YOU CLEAN YOUR WATCH ??

Any tips for the "newbys" or for that matter those with many years of collecting under their belts?

Tips for cleaning/polishing
    • Braclets
    • leather bands
    • glass/crystal etc
    Here are some pics of my finished project, (wish I'd got some usable before shots...)

Re: How do YOU clean your watch ???

Why the heck are you asking us?
    We ought take notes from YOU
    Well done on that, looks new.
    Myself I scrupulously try to maintain a VERY sedentary lifestyle and my watches rarely get grungy but I'm looking forward to further replies here.
    Really I'd like a definitive answer on whether an ultrasonic jewelry cleaner is safe.
    My wife has one and they work great for rings n such.
    "Time is the school in which we learn. Time is the fire in which we burn."

Great job indeed. That watch looks brand new.
    I've used toothpaste and toothbrush in the past. I just recently picked up an ultrasonic cleaner and cleaned up a watch movement in it. I might be afraid of the crystal on a watch case being dislodged however.