WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

How does ETA 2824-2, Seikos 7S26, and Orients movement compare?

43K views 41 replies 22 participants last post by  Racontour313 
#1 ·
Like the title says, how does ETA's 2824-2, Seikos 7S26 and Orients movements compare?

What Orient movement compares to these other two mentioned?

Thanks!

#2 ·
I'm no pro, but I believe Orient is a subsidiary of Seiko and they basically have the same movements? As for Seiko vs ETA well, you get hand winding and hacking on an ETA. Price vs Durability would go toward the 7S26. Some will disagree but I'd put up ETA for better accuracy.

#3 ·
I'm no pro, but I believe Orient is a subsidiary of Seiko and they basically have the same movements?
Not so. Orient has its own in-house movements.

And my own personal belief is that most of the difference between these 3 would be in someone's head. The 7s26 is the venerable workhorse of the Seiko line and I find it very, very difficult to believe the ETA would best it in durability or "quality" as it pertains to function. Orient's movements are less tested in this way, being such a smaller line of product, but you don't hear too much on the negative front about them either.

As was said though, the ETA affords hacking and hand winding. That does matter to some, although I would probably argue that those features definitely are not worth the premium you pay on an automatic movement. But, that's me. Most of the ETA appeal, for me, is what I like to call the "Lexus factor", and that is a startlingly similar product with the of peace of mind that goes along with a more "luxurious" reputation. Not to knock it, of course, as it's also a time tested movement.

#9 ·