My first watch arrived: Gavox P-40. Thoughts, pictures and video inside...
Like Tree14Likes

Thread: My first watch arrived: Gavox P-40. Thoughts, pictures and video inside...

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Hello all,

Thanks to the wonderful help I received on this forum, my first watch is now on my wrist! After listening to a bunch of recommendations and searching through like threads, I ended up purchasing the Gavox Curtiss P-40. There was some info here on the Gavox, but I figured I would add to it in case anyone else is looking. So, last night I decided to break out the camera and set up some stuff in hopes that I could in some small way contribute to the knowledge found on this site. Beware, there are going to be a fair amount of pictures and even some video here. This is my first review and I'm still learning about watches, but perhaps I can offer a noob's perspective on this watch.

Here's the short version of the review: I really like this watch. It is the perfect size (40mm) for my wrist, it wears easy, it is very light, it is very comfortable, I think it is quite aesthetically pleasing, it's somewhat unique (to me), and it keeps great time. This checked off all the boxes that I wanted checked when looking for my first watch while staying in my budget.

First, here's a little video I made up of some different views of the watch:

There are a few different versions of the Gavox Curtiss P-40, and I purchased the most simple one with a nice black leather band. I purchased it from Gavox's online retailer. The watch shipped from Belgium. Considering the distance the wait time was very reasonable, and painless. Mike (the fella that runs the online store) was very helpful, great at communicating/answering questions, and an all around nice guy.