Recommendations for brands and stores
Like Tree27Likes

Thread: Recommendations for brands and stores

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Recommendations for brands and stores

Hi all, noob here again. Looking for recommendations for brands that are affordable for ladies that offer sapphire crystal face. I tend to shake and sometimes scratch my watches so need some brands that would help stand up to those pesky scratches. Also, since I’m new here I’d welcome recommendations for retailers to buy from. Do I stick to Macy’s and other well known retailers or are there websites for watches that fellow collectors go to automatically to look for great deals and quality timepieces? Sorry for the green questions, all help would be welcome. Thanks everyone
    Perdendosi, Ten-Ten and Moonchucks like this.

Re: Recommendations for brands and stores

Hello and welcome!

First, department stores, and even jewelry stores, are OK for watch buying, but be sure you do your research on what the general internet price is before buying in person. Sometimes watches are sold in stores at 3-4 times what they're sold for online, or a department store will put a watch on "50% off sale," but that's still more expensive than what you find online. Of course, there are benefits to buying in brick and mortar stores (you can see the exact watch you're buying; returns are usually easier; the store is likely an "authorized dealer" so you can feel more confident that the watch brand's warranty will be honored, etc), and sometimes people pay more for those privileges. Just do some googling (even while you're standing at the store) to make sure you're not getting fleeced.

Macy's is fine, if you buy on sale. So is Kohl's (they have good deals on Seiko and Citizen often). Costco can have smoking deals on watches.