Advice on my first mechanical watch

Thread: Advice on my first mechanical watch

Advice on my first mechanical watch

Hello everyone. Now I am totally new to a quality watch and I have a thread on here where others are helping me in the Public forum. Now I am unsure what I want to do as others are leading to to stick with brands such as Seiko if I buy automatic and Citizen Eco-Drive if I go quartz. What if I want a true mechanical hand wound model though? I like the idea of hand winding and making it part of my morning routine. I like the idea of hearing my watch ticking away and seeing the movement and such. Here is some info that might help:

up to $250 total price
    black easy to read dial
    no chronograph (can not see those small dials)
    am legally blind on both eyes from birth
    prefer stainless bracelet but am open to other ideas
    am seriously concerned about "made in China" quality and wonder if I should avoid it and just buy a Seiko
    I have no idea about brand name or where to buy them from
    want quality, want watch to last
    something I can admire and be proud of
    I never make a purchase like this for myself/want to treat myself
    will be buying in mid November

Thank you for the help.

Re: Advice on my first mechanical watch

Quote Originally Posted by s1mp13m4n View Post
    black easy to read dial
    am legally blind on both eyes from birth
    Without going into the other issues, just for this I'd say b-uhr (= beobachtungs uhr, observer's watch) style pilot watches. After all, these were the watches designed by the germans to be instantly and faultlessly readable for combat pilots of the Luftwaffe during WW2. Germans tend not to screw around when designing something like that. My Ticino was in the b-uhr style, to give you an idea:

(seen here on the typical riveted leather pilot watch strap, in this case from Steinhart)