WatchUSeek Watch Forums banner

I need some advice on my next dive watch purchase

1K views 14 replies 12 participants last post by  torquemada 
#1 ·
I'm an amateur watch collector with pockets that aren't quite as deep as many people who are reading this. I take an interest in all watches, but am looking to go from Invictas and low-quality Seikos, to something nicer.

I apologize if I'm posting in the wrong place. I'm a newbie but needed some other opinions.

I'm looking for a black dive watch, probably between 38 and 42mm, ideally 40, that's got a 20mm lug width. I'd love it if it's a Swiss made watch but that's not a must. The price I'd like to have at or below $500 but if it's a watch that's well worth the money I can go a bit over $500. Automatic versus quartz isn't a huge point for me, but quartz would be a bit more practical for me since I'm a big NATO strap guy with a 7 inch wrist, and a NATO on an automatic may have a bit too much wrist presence.

If anybody knows of good divers let me know.

Thanks for the help :)

-Andrew

#3 ·
In my humble opinion, Deep Blue sells a very nice array of divers in the 40-45mm range, priced now with substantial discounts for the holidays. Use coupon code BLUE for I believe 40% off. They have some very nice models with black dials and/or PVD cases. With the 40% off you can step up in price and model and still stay around $500. I own several Deep Blue watches and they never disappoint. Well built, functional layouts and great water resistance. Stan and Eli are stand up guys and the customer service is one of the best among micro brands. Good luck!

#4 ·
Also, go with a mechanical automatic for sure. Yes, you have to keep them wound or wind them if you don’t wear everyday, but autos are the way to go. Most of Deep Blue models are mechanical autos, Miyota and Swiss ETA. You won’t find Swiss made at $500, but you could find an ETA Movement at the $500 price point if watchbis discounted.

#6 ·