Silver Archetype One Hands-on Amateur Review - 5513/5517 Milsub Homage (Pic Heavy)
Like Tree170Likes

Thread: Silver Archetype One Hands-on Amateur Review - 5513/5517 Milsub Homage (Pic Heavy)

Page 1 of 14 1 2 3 4 5 6 7 8 9 10 11 ... LastLast

Silver Archetype One Hands-on Amateur Review - 5513/5517 Milsub Homage (Pic Heavy)

First, please excuse my amateur photo skills (fingerprints, dust, etc.) and my unprofessional review because I am not a pro – just a WIS. And I have nothing to do with Silver Watch Company.

I started following this project close to the beginning. I’ve always been on the hunt for a milsub homage that didn’t stray too far from the original. As I’m sure everyone knows – there’s tons of sub homages out there. So, why would I be interested in this one?

Well, let’s start at my beginning…I owned a Rolex 116610, Steinhart OVM and Pan Am, Squale Vintage Maxi and Pan Am, several modded Invicta 8926s, a Kemmner 007 and a MKii Key West. I have flipped them all along the way. I have since stayed away from sub homages for years but any time a new one pops up – I still check it out…just in case. But usually I’m instantly put off by the catalog case/parts or idiotic logo/text on the dial or some design element that strayed too far from the original. Plus, IMHO, the milsub was the best looking sub of them all, but no one ever got an homage “right.” And then I stumbled across the Silver project. I felt like this Silver one was different but I was still ready for some off putting design to push me away and help me save my $$$. But it didn’t happen. So, I’m in for 2 – the serif with aluminum bezel and a blue with the 15 minute bezel. These seem to be the closest remakes to the originals.

The Silver guys (Ian and Dan) mentioned on IG they might use “real” folks to review the pieces so I hit ‘em up. Luckily, I got in and a Silver Archetype One (A1 from here on) proto with maxi dial and ghosted ceramic bezel landed at my doorstep.