Smaller Quartz Diver?
Like Tree5Likes

Thread: Smaller Quartz Diver?

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Smaller Quartz Diver?

Hello!

Long-time lurker, first time poster, so I hope I'm not breaking any sort of rules or etiquette here, and that I haven't missed any prior threads or topics that might address this.

I'm very fond of the aesthetics of dive watches, the original 6538 Submariner in particular, but I've run across a few issues in finding exactly the right watch for me:

1) Cost-- I'm a professional writer, and while I'm very happy with what I make it's certainly not Rolex money, nor am I comfortable with spending a large sum of money on a watch for a number of reasons. I like to keep my expenses in the safely $200-and-under region.

2) Small Wrists- I've smaller-ish wrists that aren't conducive to larger sized watches. I'm very comfortable with 36-40mm, and only own one larger watch, a 42mm that I use for casual wear.

3) Thickness- I also prefer to keep my watches on the thinner side, as I wear long-sleeve shirts and suits often and hate to have my cuff pushed up by a chunkier case.

4) Longevity/durability- Aesthetically, I'm very fond of the Invicta Pro Diver (the gaudy "INVICTA" stamp on the case aside), and in theory it's everything I'd want out of an everyday diver. I actually tried to make it my daily-wear watch several years ago but learned that its lifespan and durability isn't what I'd like. That's a whole post unto itself.