Vintage Seiko dive watch..45 years old.
Like Tree2Likes
  • 2 Post By 2500M_Sub

Thread: Vintage Seiko dive watch..45 years old.

Vintage Seiko dive watch..45 years old.

Hello All...I need some advice. I was given a Seiko dive watch for my high school graduation in 1975. The watch is all original and still works but I wouldn't dare use it under water now. I am going to send it to the Seiko factory service center for service (tune up), Its a 6105.8119. My question is..the crystal is pretty scratched and hazy. If I replace it does it affect the price of the watch ? Also, I have trying to determine the value of this watch so I can insure it for shipping. I have seen prices as high as $2000 but I'm not sure thats accurate in my case but, who knows ? Any help would be really appreciated.
    Thanking all in advance.
    Carmine

I see that this is your 1st post so even though I am no expert on this specific Seiko I will try and steer you in the right direction.

I have bought and sold quite a few watches so I will give you my take on the value thing. I find the best way to assess value is to go on e-bay and put in the description of your exact watch like this "Seiko 6109-8119" and then go to the advanced filter feature and put in "Sold" and you will find 28 watches that meet your criteria. You can do the same and see what the ones sold for that match the condition of yours the best. You now know what that exact watch has recently actually sold for. Just at a glance I would say somewhere between about $1000-$2000 depending on condition & how motivated you are to sell it.