Help on watch selection
Like Tree7Likes

Thread: Help on watch selection

Page 1 of 2 1 2 LastLast

Help on watch selection

Hi, this is my first time posting on here and hope for some insight int9 what would be best. I have spent weeks trying to decide on which watch to get for my dad. I keep going back to longines brand because my dad was given one fro: his father as a gift, which later his father took back because they needed money, food more than him having the watch. He loved that watch.

Accuracy is very, most important to my dad, also a dial that is easy to read in all lighting situations. He is getting on in life and hates digital watches as he finds them harder to read. Faces that are cluttered with a lot of dials now annoy him. I also want one that is a comfortable size. Some I find seem rather large to me. Is there a perfect size for a watch face that most find comfortable? Waterproof is also important. I am not buying a Rolex or bristling, they are out of my budget, so please don’t recommend those.

While a longines would be great, I am not resigned to that brand. Which watch would you recommend that would meet these requirements? All advice and insight is greatly appreciated.

Re: Help on watch selection

Do you have a budget?

Longines, Grand Seiko and Citizen are the primary companies with a good selection of high-accuracy quartz watches. The later start around $2k to $3k.

Are you aware that these are accurate to within 10 seconds per year? That might be overkill for your dad. He might be fine with regular quartz watches which are accurate to 10-15 seconds per month, or achieve HAQ-like accuracy with daily atomic clock synchroniztion.

That would open you up to many more options and a wider price point.

Also, Rolex, Omega and most Breitling are luxury watches but are not "high accuracy" and many are not even quartz powered.
    ronalddheld likes this.

4. Remove Advertisements
    WatchUSeek.com
    Advertisements