Why are watches and watch collecting popular? And not just watches, other thing also!

Thread: Why are watches and watch collecting popular? And not just watches, other thing also!

California for now, leaving as soon as possible!!!

Why are watches and watch collecting popular? And not just watches, other thing also!

I just wanted to find out what make a person collect things like watches, model airplanes, model trains, cars, ETC. I've been flying RC and control-line planes for 55 yrs and just got back into watches after retiring from 35 yrs of auto body where rings, watches and the like were a hindrance to the job. I've always had a love for timepieces but didn't want nice ones because I would get them all tore up. I've had Seiko's, Armitrons, and the typical Timex's. When I got back into watches I started with a couple Invicta's and a Citizen Signature perpetual calender. I use it as a reference for all my other watches.
    I may be getting in deep but is there a point to where it is collecting or hoarding? I've got 43 RC and u-control planes ( of which 25 of them I don't fly now). I have about 25 watches, some I wear every other day and others I may wear once every other month. Is it a status thing to show off what we have accomplished or is it for our own edification? I'm not into the Rolex's, Patek's and the like as I don't like autos. They are beautiful but like a beautiful women they need alot of attention to keep wound up and maintained. I fell in love with Citizen Eco-drives because they are sturdy, nice looking and never need a battery or to be wound up. I have 1 auto and hate it for 2 reasons, its a skeleton and can't see the hands because of the complexity of the workings and having to always keep it wound or I have to go through the ritual of winding it up and resetting the time via my Citizen. I hope this translates to what i'm thinking about. Let me know, Thanks