Ussr divers chronograph- vintage- is it authentic

Thread: Ussr divers chronograph- vintage- is it authentic

Ussr divers chronograph- vintage- is it authentic

Hi, I have recently become interested in Russian vintage watches and I've just bought one on EBay. It is described as a USSR navy chronograph and is allegedly a divers watch from the 1960s. I know very little about it and I am concerned that it may not be authentic. The watch was really inexpensive but of course I only got a bargain if it is a genuine item!! I have attached photos and would really value your opinions.
    Attached Images Attached Images

Re: Ussr divers chronograph- vintage- is it authentic

I am not a complete expert but there are a few things wrong. The biggest being the dial which is incorrect. It is some kind of franken watch, probably meant to look like the okeah or other sturmanskies that used that case style and similar dials. The dials says "Captain".

It is NOT a diver don't go diving with it.

There are variations but the closest correct example from Mark Gordons site

Last edited by cavallino33; August 5th, 2010 at 20:46.
    Buran Siberia (x2 black and white), Aviator Chrono II (poljot31681), Ferrari Jumbo Pit Crew,Alpha Jump Hour, MZI Skeleton, MKII Stingray,Elgin 18s,Agat stopwatch, Sturmanskie Sputnik,Raketa Pilot, Poljot Traveller,Tscheljabinsk military clock, Kirovskie Crab, Vostok Amphibia (tank dial), 3133 Strela replica, Alpha Jumphour Tank,Denissov Barracuda 31681,Laco B-Uhr type B, Stowa Antea KS

Pictures: http://www.flickr.com/photos/cavallino33

Quote Originally Posted by cavallino33 View Post
    I am not a complete expert but there are a few things wrong. The biggest being the dial which is incorrect. It is some kind of franken watch, probably meant to look like the okeah or other sturmanskies that used that case style and similar dials. The dials says "Captain".

It is NOT a diver don't go diving with it.